google-site-verification: googleff3ef223fa187539.html Photos lack 'Life' - PhotoMalaysia Community

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Photos lack 'Life'

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Photos lack 'Life'

Hey Guys,

I am a newbie and I know nuts.

I went to the Zoo yesterday to take some pictures with a 40D and 55-250mm lens. Every single picture came out very dull and 'dead' when I copied it onto my PC and opened it with the DPP. Only when I 'adjust' the pics the then only it starts looking colourful and vibrant.

My question is how do I take pictures that are colourful and lifely at the zoo. What settings must I use cos my 'original' pictures really suck? My friend says that I must adjust it via the DPP then only it will look nice. BUT I am disheartened because the original pics I take are lousy in terms of colour and have no life. Are there any special 'skills' involved? I think someone using a compact could have produced pictures that are more lifely than me using the DSLR.

Here is just a one of the FEW HUNDRED 'DEAD & DULL' pics I took yesterday. How come so dead? Please advice me.

btw, I was using AV mode. didnt play around with shutter speed. mostly 4-5.6 aperture. auto white balance.
    Attached Files

Re: Photos lack 'Life'

1. What Picture Style are you using? There are a few different picture styles which you can utilize. Other than that, you can create your own custom picture style where the saturation, contrast, and sharpness can be adjusted according to your taste.

2. While Auto White Balance is fine, try to use the correct white balance for the conditions you're in (if it's cloudy use Cloudy, if it is sunny use Daylight, etc).

3. All photos from the camera will benefit from some post processing, no matter how basic (color adjustment, sharpness, contrast, curves, etc). So don't worry, just use it.

These should give your pictures better 'life', try it out.