Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 23

Thread: canon 60D video problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    canon 60D video problem

    Advertise here
    photomalaysia@gmail.com

    Hello good fellas out there i have this problem with my recording, can anyone share their experiences & how to solve the problem?
    60D video recording error.jpg

    Thanks for your kindness & hope to hear from all you good fellas out there

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,691
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Wow this is serious

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    does it appear all the time in the video?
    try updating the firmware 1st if there is any.
    reset to default factory settings and try the video record again.
    most probably its just a software(codec) issue/glitch. but if can't be solve then need to sent to service center to check.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    bro, it appears OK on the 3" screen of the camera but once its on computer, the "mosaic" appears. And surprisingly my firmware is updated when i brought it.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,691
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    what software you use in your computer?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Quote Originally Posted by johnnyK View Post
    bro, it appears OK on the 3" screen of the camera but once its on computer, the "mosaic" appears. And surprisingly my firmware is updated when i brought it.
    then its must be your PC software issue, try reinstall the original sw from the cd that comes with the camera.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    calvin, im only opening the video files using windows media player on windows 7 platform. my camera firm ware is up-to-date :1.1.0

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    if it play well on your camera but not on your pc then its most probably the s/w codec issue on your media player/win7..

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Quote Originally Posted by anakrantau View Post
    then its must be your PC software issue, try reinstall the original sw from the cd that comes with the camera.
    bro, is it necessary to install the softwares frm the package?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1,691
    Thanks
    10
    Thanked 16 Times in 14 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    can you download a trial version of Adobe Premier and try load the video up and play it.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    289
    Thanks
    18
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Quote Originally Posted by johnnyK View Post
    bro, is it necessary to install the softwares frm the package?
    you can try..because the software package comes with necessary codec for the video playback.

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Virtual world called WWW
    Posts
    518
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    don't rely on windows media player. it has codec issue sometimes. as recommended by most of forumers here, install original software that comes with the package otherwise use another media player. there are a lot out there, most of it is free. for me, i personally recommend KMPlayer. it comes build-in with necessary codec. I don't have any problem playing medias on this software so far, if it has, it is because of media file is corrupted.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    It is codec issue, as long it plays ok in you camera dont
    worry about it

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Quote Originally Posted by zul_ice View Post
    It is codec issue, as long it plays ok in you camera dont
    worry about it
    ZUl, tks for sharing. I should update my codec.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Quote Originally Posted by izzat3114 View Post
    don't rely on windows media player. it has codec issue sometimes. as recommended by most of forumers here, install original software that comes with the package otherwise use another media player. there are a lot out there, most of it is free. for me, i personally recommend KMPlayer. it comes build-in with necessary codec. I don't have any problem playing medias on this software so far, if it has, it is because of media file is corrupted.
    TQ Izzad, shall explore

  16. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Sarawak - Miri - Brunei
    Posts
    795
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Try load your video on Window Live Movie Maker instead of Window Media Player. If it plays smoothly on WLMM, then it's your WMM that is not up to date.
    Logically, if it plays smoothly on your camera, not the camera fault at all.
    One thing to remember is to check your SD Card class, AFAIK, it only work good on Class 6 and above.
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/skycafephotography/

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Quote Originally Posted by sky1802 View Post
    Try load your video on Window Live Movie Maker instead of Window Media Player. If it plays smoothly on WLMM, then it's your WMM that is not up to date.
    Logically, if it plays smoothly on your camera, not the camera fault at all.
    One thing to remember is to check your SD Card class, AFAIK, it only work good on Class 6 and above.
    Bro, thanks for the advice, my sd card is class 10 8gb, its good enough for videos. Will try on WLMM.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Selangor...
    Posts
    316
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    If you say you camera playback is a-ok! dont worry! it's not firmware problem or anything else.. it jsut boils back down to the computer you're using... as most of the forumers here told you it's you computer issue... well technically it is your computer issue.. lol

    Reason being is that all the videos captured are then compressed into a format compression that 'taxes' the computer's CPU on playback... eg: formats are like AVCHD and/or H.264"which is what your camera i using)... It's just your computer's CPU that cannot handle the amount of stress/load from the video playback... and also Windows Media Player isn't at all that fantastic... Try QuickTimes or VLC... they're one of the best so far!

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    KL
    Posts
    17
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Quote Originally Posted by VinceCheong View Post
    If you say you camera playback is a-ok! dont worry! it's not firmware problem or anything else.. it jsut boils back down to the computer you're using... as most of the forumers here told you it's you computer issue... well technically it is your computer issue.. lol

    Reason being is that all the videos captured are then compressed into a format compression that 'taxes' the computer's CPU on playback... eg: formats are like AVCHD and/or H.264"which is what your camera i using)... It's just your computer's CPU that cannot handle the amount of stress/load from the video playback... and also Windows Media Player isn't at all that fantastic... Try QuickTimes or VLC... they're one of the best so far!
    Bro

    Thanks for your reply, will try it out. Btw, which is the best software to edit movies?

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Selangor...
    Posts
    316
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Re: canon 60D video problem

    Quote Originally Posted by johnnyK View Post
    Bro

    Thanks for your reply, will try it out. Btw, which is the best software to edit movies?
    Cool! No worries.
    Hahaha, now that's a very very subjective question as many of the forumers here had discussed about.
    What I mainly used is Adobe Premiere Pro CS5 for cutting and Adobe After Effects CS5 for colour grading and textual graphics. On a Mac, any day Final Cut Studio 2.
    But those programmes I mentioned are quite expensive! Due to the exchange rate from USD to MYR, even if it was Student Pricing... still cost an arm an a leg, but they are very very powerful tools!

    There's also Avid and Sony Vegas Pro (I don't know either of these NLE*Non Linear Editing* softwares, but they are advance yet simple enough to use and play around, Oh and i heard the i THHHHHINK the Sony Vegas Pro is free to use?)

    so yeah

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 24
    Last Post: 12-03-2012, 12:57 AM
  2. K-r video transfer problem
    By hyschara in forum Pentax
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-01-2011, 08:46 PM
  3. need help : 5dmk2 problem in video mode
    By ahpunk in forum Canon
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21-11-2010, 09:11 PM
  4. D90 video problem.
    By mrjohn88 in forum Nikon
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 15-06-2009, 08:44 PM
  5. JVC GR-DA30 VIDEO CAPTURE PROBLEM
    By JLopez in forum Video Equipment Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-11-2008, 09:35 PM

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •