HASSELBLAD Announces Winners of Masters Awards 2018 – Nabil Rosman from Malaysia, won Project//21


Hasselblad Masters is widely acclaimed as one of the world’s most prestigious professional photography competitions. The winners are chosen through a combination of a public vote and a professional Masters Jury – comprised internationally renowned photographers and imaging experts.

Every Hasselblad Masters award winner will hold the title of ‘Hasselblad Master’ and be a brand ambassador for two years. In addition, they will receive a brand new Hasselblad medium format camera and be invited to shoot for a collaborative project with Hasselblad. This project will be printed and released in the bi-annual Hasselblad Masters book.

Winners will receive their awards, medium format cameras, and trophies at a special Photokina 2018 ceremony in Cologne, Germany this September.

Bronius Rudnickas, Hasselblad Marketing Manager: “Over 30 000 images were submitted to this year’s competition and that was a record, we are glad to see the competition is growing every year.”

Masters Jury member and professional photographer Tom Oldham said: “It really struck me how progressive many of the entries were this year and how far the entrants were willing to push the brief. These were the photographers who caught my eye – the ballsy, out-there risk-takers who make compelling pictures that refuse to be ignored. I’m proud to have helped to get this great kit into their hands – their images deserve it.”

The Hasselblad Masters Awards 2018 winners are:
Aerial – Jorge de la Torriente – Miami, USA
Architecture – Kamilla Hanapova – St. Petersburg, Russia
Art – Maria Svarbova – Bratislava, Slovakia
Beauty & Fashion – Michal Baran – Trim, Ireland
Landscape – Benjamin Everett – Lopez Island, USA
Portrait – Tina Signesdottir Hult – Torvastad, Norway
Product – Marcin Gizycki – Warszawa, Poland
Project//21 – Nabil Rosman – Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Street / Urban – Ben Thomas – Kyneton, Australia
Wedding – Victor Hamke – Leipzig, Germany
Wildlife – Karim Iliya – Haiku, USA

The Hasselblad Masters Awards 2018 jury are:
Tom Oldham – Photographer
Ali Rajabi – Past Master
Martin Hausler – Photographer
Katrina Belkina – Past Master
Swee Oh – Past Master
Lars van de Goor – Past Master
Tim Flach – Photographer
Kevin Then – Photographer
Bara Prasilova – Past Master
Damien Demolder – Journalist
Blair Bunting – Photographer
Hans van Ommeren – Past Master
Mads Nissen – Photographer
Kevin Raber – Journalist

For more information and images: